The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) was created by Health Ministers in 2006, and funded by all governments on a cost sharing basis, to lead and coordinate health care safety and quality improvements in Australia.

As a result of its work, the Commission has an ongoing program of significant national activity with outcomes that are demonstrating direct patient benefit as well as creating essential underpinnings for ongoing improvement.

In 2011, the Federal Parliament passed the National Health Reform Act 2011 (NHR Act) which established the Commission as a corporate Commonwealth entity under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (PGPA Act). Our governance structure is determined by these Acts.

The  Board is the governing body of the Commission.

The Commission reports to the COAG Health Council and works with the Inter-Jurisdictional Committee, which is made up of senior Safety and Quality Managers from the Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing, and each State and Territory Department of Health.

In addition, the Commission has three Committees:

  • The Private Hospital Sector Committee, comprising nominees from key private heath care bodies in Australia
  • The Information Strategy Committee which provides input and advice in relation to the Information Strategy; and the
  • The Primary Care Committee which provides primary care advice and liaison with the primary care sector.

The Commission also works in close partnership with Advisory Committees that directly relate to key aspects of individual work programs. These involve key stakeholder groups, including consumers and health professionals.

The Commission is situated in Sydney and is managed on a day to day basis by its CEO, Adjunct Professor Debora Picone AM.

The staff list provides details management and our program structures.

Back to top